Our Mission: to enhance and promote effective State and Territorial programs and to affect relevant national policies for waste and materials management, environmentally sustainable practices, and environmental restoration.

Upcoming Events

Recent Events

Presentations and recordings will be posted here.

Recent Publications

CERCLA Modernization Position Paper (11/19/2019) - The ASTSWMO CERCLA and Brownfields Subcommittee has published a position paper on CERCLA Modernization in which there are specific areas… ... Read More
Site Assessment Focus Group Toolbox (11/19/2019) - The ASTSWMO Site Assessment Focus Group have published a report that provides additional follow-up to the August 2017 publication, On… ... Read More
EPA National Database for UST and LUST – Webinar (10/17/2019) - Working with State partners, EPA has developed the first comprehensive national database on underground storage tank facilities, underground storage tanks,… ... Read More

Food Waste – In the News:

Click here for more news

PFAS – In the News:

Click here for more news

Recent News

  • Register today for the Great Lakes Environmental Remediation and Redevelopment Conference, taking place October 16-18 in Lansing, Michigan. Join us to learn the latest in remediation and redevelopment in the Great Lakes region. Hear about remediation, emerging contaminants, program implementation and performance, redevelopment, and region-wide interest topics. Learn about management methods, successful solutions, and best practices. Learn More


Click here to view our most recent newsletter. To see our previous newsletters follow this link. To be added to our newsletter please fill out our contact form on our Contact Us page.



ASTSWMO was incorporated in 1974, and has maintained a full time office in Washington, DC, since 1980. The Association holds two general membership meetings each year, and a number of specialized roundtables, workshops or conferences for specific program areas of high interest. The Association also provides a steady flow of services and information to our members along program specific lines throughout the year. We work closely with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to ensure that our members are aware of the most current developments related to their programs and coordinate the work of our State regulators with that of their federal counterparts. The Association also represents the interests of our members in Washington, DC. While no single entity can speak for all State waste programs, the capability of consolidating similar views and ensuring that State managers have the opportunity to speak in unison on important waste management issues assists their ability to influence national decision-making. ASTSWMO's most important role is to assist States in learning from and working with other State peers. Within the Association it is an axiom that States learn best from other States in matters of program implementation, and ASTSWMO's collective efforts are all focused on making that happen.
ASTSWMO added 15 new photos — in Seattle, Washington.
Notice: date_default_timezone_set(): Timezone ID '' is invalid in /home/astswmo5/public_html/wp-content/plugins/feed-them-social/includes/feed-them-functions.php on line 3191
ASTSWMO added 36 new photos.
ASTSWMO added 9 new photos.
Thank you to Dania Rodriguez for representing ASTSWMO
ASTSWMO added 47 new photos — in Bethesda, Maryland.
ASTSWMO is with Charles Reyes.
Opening of the PFAs National Summit
ASTSWMO added 22 new photos.


ASTSWMO President Conchita Taitano of Guam EPA representing the membership at Recycling Roundtable. #americarecyclesday #astswmo https://t.co/Az4BOwLcwZ ASTSWMO photo

So proud of that annual meeting attendees for coming together to raise over $1800 for @CityBlossoms of DC!! https://t.co/2rPNdUgd8Q ASTSWMO photo

Taking recycling impacts across the country! #chinasword #astwmo45 https://t.co/jKtW90tb5b ASTSWMO photo

Newly elected ASTSWMO VP Brent Everett if @UtahDEQ talks about work-sharing and the superfund program. https://t.co/yWm2KYgHqa ASTSWMO photo

Great presentation on the work CUPP is going to work with students and underserved communities. #region4 https://t.co/hnvRh1lGmY ASTSWMO photo

Become a Member

To become a member please download, review, and fill out the form below. When you complete it please email it to the appropriate ASTSWMO staff (listed at the top the form).

New Member Form

Members in Action Guidance Document

Lifetime Achievement Award

In 2002, ASTSWMO instituted the ASTSWMO Lifetime Achievement Award, to recognize an outstanding individual who has worked in State government in the areas of solid and hazardous waste management, sustainability/materials management, underground storage tanks, or contaminated site clean-up.

The purpose of the award is to recognize work done on behalf of the States and in furtherance of ASTSWMO’s mission to enhance and promote effective State and Territorial programs for waste and materials management, to encourage environmentally sustainable practices, and to affect relevant national waste and materials management policies.

Click here for the full description and a list of past winners.